Top Left Header
Go Home
Danny Johnson wins the inaugural Canadian Nationals/DIRTcar 358-Modified Series at Speedway!
Martin Bélanger
Cornwall Motor Speedway

Danny Johnson wins the inaugural Canadian Nationals/DIRTcar 358-Modified Series at Speedway!
In front of capacity crowd on Opening Night at Cornwall Motor Speedway, the best drivers in the DIRTcar 358-Modified ranks showed their talent in the Canadian Nationals/DIRTcar 358-Modified Series with the 100-lap event on Minute Auto Wash Night.

Cornwall - May. 22, 2012 - In front of capacity crowd on Opening Night at Cornwall Motor Speedway, the best drivers in the DIRTcar 358-Modified ranks showed their talent in the Canadian Nationals/DIRTcar 358-Modified Series with the 100-lap event on Minute Auto Wash Night.

Dale Planck led the field of 30 cars to green in the 100-lap 358-Modified Minute Auto Wash 100 as Mario Clair slipped in turn 4 and caused the first caution on lap 2. The race resumed on lap 8 as Mat Williamson powered by Planck for the lead with defending series champion Danny Johnson moving up to third after starting in ninth. Johnson passed Planck on the following lap for second. Jeremy Wilder brought the field together on lap 14 as he slowed down in turn 2. The green lights came back on lap 23 with Williamson charging in first. The leaders were pulling away from the rest of the field when Steve Bernard came to a stop in the backstretch on lap 27. Williamson is still the leader with Johnson, Planck, Bobby Herrington and Brett Hearn cracking the top 5 with 31 laps in the books. Johnson used the heavy traffic to his advantage has he moved by Williamson for the lead on lap 38. Hearn used the high lane to take 3rd on Planck with 43 laps completed.

At the mid-race, Johnson was still in the lead with Williamson, Hearn, Planck and Laurent Ladouceur running the top 5. While the top 4 remained unchanged, Danny O’Brien made his way to fifth on lap 55. Hearn was strong on the outside as charged by Williamson for second with 40 laps to go. The yellow came back on lap 63 as Bruno Lepage spun out in turn 4. Johnson kept the top spot over Hearn as Planck got a good jump on the restart and returned to third as Williamson was back to fourth. Johnson still in the lead as Yan Bussière had a tremendous start and took fifth with a bold move between O’Brien and Ladouceur on lap 76. Hearn was waiting for an opportunity with Johnson as Lepage made another stop in turn 4 on with 16 laps to go. Johnson pulled away from Hearn with only 5 laps to go. Johnson led the final laps to win over Hearn, Planck, Williamson and Bussière completed the top 5.

Jocelyn Roy got the edge in the 40-lap Mohawk Race Parts Pro-Stock Series; Roy led the first 6 laps as a pair of #7 cars passed him with Ryan Stabler in the lead over Rob Yetman with Roy running in third. Yetman was running on the backbumper of Stabler as the feature quickly came to the halfway point with Roy, Michel Desjardins and Ladouceur now in fifth. Yetman used the top lane to get by Stabler on the following lap as both drivers were swapping the lead as they ran a clean race in front with Stabler back on top with 15 left to go. Ladouceur was now running in third as he used the inside lane to gain real estate on the leaders. Stabler pulled away from the field as several positions were changed in the top 5 as Stabler captured the feature over Ghislain Valade, Marc Lalonde, Joey Ladouceur and Rob Yetman as the race went green to checker.

Martin Pelletier led the 24-car field in the 20-lap Storm Realty Tracey Wheeler sponsored Sportsman feature. Pelletier was running the top side well has he had rookie contender Corey Wheeler on the bottom. Pelletier ran on top for the first 12 laps as Wheeler took the lead over Pelletier with Mathieu Desjardins running in third. Wheeler led the final laps to win his first career feature in the Sportsman rank over Pelletier and Desjardins.

Derek Cryderman was able to resists to several cautions to capture the 15-lap Evans Bus Line Semi-Pro feature race. Benoit Dubois and Guy Regimald completed the podium.

In the Crazy Dave’s DJ Services 15-lap Feature race, Mathieu Aubin had to hold off on some charges of Joe McNichols and Mike Gaucher to win the first feature of the season in this category.

Race fans will be able to see the drivers and their cars from a closer perspective next week with photo and autograph night during intermission. A full race program in all five divisions will occur. The Squire Shop will be the main sponsor of the evening. We invite you to visit our website at to have all the latest news and also our Facebook page to view our contests and other useful information about Cornwall Motor Speedway.

Jiffy Auto Service Modified Feature Results (100 laps)
Danny Johnson, Brett Hearn, Dale Planck, Mat Williamson, Yan Bussiere, Bobby Herrington, Matt Billings, Danny O'Brien, Chris Raabe, Laurent Ladouceur, David Hebert, Joel Doiron, Erick Rudolph, Kyle Dingwall, Brian McDonald, Carey Terrance, Mario Clair, Stephane Lafrance, Travis Braun, Tim Currier, Marc Therrien, Luke Whitteker, Shane Pecore, Steve Bernard, Bruno Lepage, Claude Brouillard, Tim O'Brien, Alain Boisvert, Kayle Robidoux, Jeremy Wilder

Mohawk Race Parts Pro-Stock Series Feature Results (20 laps)
Ryan Stabler, Ghislain Valade, Marc Lalonde, Joey Ladouceur, Rob Yetman, George Renaud, Michel Desjardins, Jocelyn Roy, Dion Oakes, Rosco Garreau, Rock Aubin, Francois Adam, Ricky Thompson, Dave Seguin, Stephane Lemire, Stephane Lebrun, Charles David Beauchamp, Steve Johnston, Bruno Cyr, Chris Tremblay, Dan Desnoyers, Richard Bertrand, Trevor Gaucher, Claude Parisien, Shawn Johnson

Storm Realty Tracy Wheeler Sportsman Feature Results (20 laps)
Corey Wheeler, Martin Pelletier, Mathieu Desjardins, Jessica Powers, Dan Jalbert, Chris Herbison, Ryan Arbuthnot, Travis Back, Dillon Sallows, Corey Winters, Billy Cook, Jenna David, Gilles Godard, John Mills, Brian Comeau, Nolan Swamp, Mitch Primeau, Tammy Jalbert, Thomas Cook, Corey Barnes, Mike Stacey, Terry Ladouceur, Rene Duquette, Adam Rozon

Evans Bus Lines Semi-Pro Feature Results (15 laps)
Derek Cryderman, Benoit Dubois, Guy Regimbald, Andrew Giroux, Joe Woods, Michael McCargar, Charles Galipeau, Adam Switzer, Jake Deer, Darryl Mitchell, Robert Delormier, Simon Tisseur, Jonathan Galipeau, Richard Lalonde, Junior Delormier, Andre Mainville, Anthony Perron

Crazy Dave’s DJ Services Mini-Stock Feature Results (12 laps)
Mathieu Aubin, Joe McNichols, Mike Gaucher, Martin Bernard, Justin Desrosiers, Jamie McKee, Alain Tardif, Marc Chartrand, Pier-Luc Lemieux, Sebastien Raymond, Joel Pilon, Danny Lefebvre, Francis Remillard, Serge Langlois

Follow on... Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Follow us on RSS Follow Us with E-Mail Updates!
Send Us Your Thoughts

Title - Story Count
8,397 Stories & Growing Daily...

To date has posted a total of 8,397 stories! News, sports, hockey, lifestyle, opinion and more!

Be sure to check out our Contributors and Columnists archives!

Title - More OH Headlines
Click on Photo or Story Title for more info
Detroit Grand Prix Canceled for 2020
Team Canada will not send athletes to Games in summer 2020 due to COVID-19 risks
NBA to suspend season following Wednesday
Lyn St. James to Race in Historic Trans-Am Series at the 2020 Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix
2019 Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix presented by Lear Fast Facts News Database Last Updated:
Dec. 31, 2021 @ 8:03 AM EST

Free Sitemap Generator